Group for Research in Organisational Evolution
 
Home Members Publications Workshops Workouts Masters PhD Links
 
 

   

Thorstein Veblen 

"The outcome of any serious research can only be to make two questions grow where only one grew before."

 

 
   

 

Charles Darwin

"... the theory of Natural Selection ... implies no necessary tendency to progression."

 

 

 

   

Alfred Marshall

“... facts by themselves are silent. Observation discovers nothing directly of the actions of causes, but only of sequences in time.”

 

 
            

Albert Einstein

“It is the theory that describes what we can observe.”

 

 
   

 Willam James 

“Habit is thus the enormous fly-wheel of society, its most precious conservative agent.”

 

 

 

Douglass North

"The development of more efficient economic organization is surely as important a part of the growth of the Western World as is the development of technology, and it is time it received equal attention."

 

 
   

 Richard Nelson and Sidney Winter

"routines play the role that genes play
in biological evolutionary theory"

 

 
   

 J Stanley Metcalfe

"Evolutionary theory is a manner of reasoning in its own right ... biologists ... simply got there first"

 

 

 

 Joint GROE - Shandong University Conference in Jinan, China, April 2010

 

GROE Members and International Collaborators


UH Academic Staff

 

 

Denise Dollimore

Senior Lecturer in Strategy
Research:  Darwinian evolutionary ideas in

business economics and organisation studies

d.e.dollimore@herts.ac.uk

Webpage

Francesca Gagliardi

Reader in Institutional Economics Research: The effects of different

institutional environments and

complementarities on economic performance

f.gagliardi@herts.ac.uk

Webpage

David Gindis

Senior Lecturer in Economics

Research: Legal and philosophical

aspects of the theory of the firm

d.gindis@herts.ac.uk

Webpage

Geoffrey M Hodgson

Research Professor in Business Studies

Research: The nature and evolution

of organisations and institutions

 g.m.hodgson@herts.ac.uk

Website

Tassos Patokos

Senior Lecturer in Economics

Research: Applied game theory and policy evaluation

t.patokos@herts.ac.uk 

 

 


Current PhD Students

 

      

Elmo Gomes 

elmo.gomes@outlook.com

Research: 'Replication of routines and selection in franchise organizations'

Stamatis Mitropoulos 

stam.mitropoulos@gmail.com

Research: 'Creation, dissolution and sustainability of labour-managed firma'

Jonathan Myers

jmyers31@gmail.com

PhD Student

Research: 'Shareholder & stakeholder value'

Michelle Brazil Rugnetta

mnbrazil@yahoo.com

Research: 'Understanding the commercialization of innovative medical technology from a co-evolutionary perspective

Oleg Zhurov

oleg.zhurov@ferring.com

Research: 'Understanding the influence of national culture on development of dynamic capabilities by pharmaceutical companies in a period of change'


International Collaborators

GROE has international research links with

  • Center for Economic Research, Shandong University, Jinan, China
  • TRIANGLE, University of Lyon 2, France
  • Strategic Organizational Design Unit, University of Southern Denmark

Members of GROE are active in the World Interdisciplinary Network for Institutional Research (WINIR).